Canadian honours system. An exclusively Canadian honours system was introduced in 1967 with the establishment of the Order of Canada. The honours system was enlarged in 1972 with the addition of the Order of Military Merit and three decorations to be awarded in recognition of acts of bravery. A complete description of these awards and a list of the recipients during 1977 are given in Appendix 4.

The Privy Council. The BNA Act of 1867 (Sect. 11) provides for "a council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada," called the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. The council that in fact advises the Queen's representative, the Governor General, is the committee of the Privy Council whose membership comprises the Cabinet.

Membership in the Privy Council is for life and includes Cabinet ministers of the government of the day, former Cabinet ministers, various members of the royal family, past and present Commonwealth prime ministers, premiers of provinces, former speakers of the Senate and the House of Commons of Canada and a few other distinguished persons. As a condition of office, all ministers must first be sworn into the Privy Council. A member is styled "Honourable" and may use the initials PC after his name. A member of the Privy Council of Britain is styled "Right Honourable"; the Governor General, the chief justice of Canada and the prime minister of Canada assume the title "Right Honourable" when they take office.

The Privy Council as a whole has met on only a few ceremonial occasions; its constitutional responsibilities to advise the Crown on government matters are discharged exclusively by the committee of the Privy Council. The legal instruments through which executive authority is exercised are called orders-in-council. The committee makes a submission to the Governor General for his approval which he is obliged to give in almost all circumstances; with this approval, the submission becomes an order-in-council. Meetings of the committee or a subcommittee of it are held without

formal ceremony.

The office of president of the Privy Council was formerly occupied, more often than not, by the prime minister but from time to time, especially in recent years, it has been occupied by another minister. On July 5, 1968, the prime minister explained that the incumbent of the office of president of the Privy Council would also be the government's leader in the House of Commons, with the broad responsibility of directing House business, including supervision of the government's replies to questions in the House and of parliamentary returns in general, and a special responsibility of ensuring that Parliament, through its operations and organization of business, can effectively function under the increasing pressure of modern government.

The following, with the dates when they were sworn in, were members of the

Queen's Privy Council for Canada in November 1977:

Hon. William Earl Rowe, August 30, 1935 Hon. Joseph Thorarinn Thorson, June 11, 1941 Hon. Lionel Chevrier, April 18, 1945 Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin, April 18, 1945 Hon. Douglas Charles Abbott, April 18, 1945 Hon. Hugues Lapointe, August 25, 1949 Hon. Gabriel-Édouard Rinfret, August 25, 1949 Hon. Walter Edward Harris, January 18, 1950 Hon, James Sinclair, October 15, 1952 Hon. John Whitney Pickersgill, June 12, 1953 Hon. Jean Lesage, September 17, 1953 Hon. George Carlyle Marler, July 1, 1954 Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer, April 26, 1957 Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker, June 21, Hon. Howard Charles Green, June 21, 1957 Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming, June 21, 1957 Hon. George Hees, June 21, 1957 Hon. Léon Balcer, June 21, 1957 Hon. George Randolph Pearkes, June 21, 1957

Hon. Gordon Churchill, June 21, 1957

Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough, June 21, 1957 Hon. John Angus MacLean, June 21, 1957 Hon. Michael Starr, June 21, 1957 Hon. William McLean Hamilton, June 21, 1957 Hon. William Joseph Browne, June 21, 1957 Hon, Jay Waldo Monteith, August 22, 1957 Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton, August 22, 1957 HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh. October 14, 1957 Hon. Henri Courtemanche, May 12, 1958 Hon, David James Walker, August 20, 1959 Hon. Joseph-Pierre-Albert Sévigny, August 20, 1959 Hon. Hugh John Flemming, October 11, 1960 Hon. Noël Dorion, October 11, 1960 Hon. Walter Dinsdale, October 11, 1960 Hon. Jacques Flynn, December 28, 1961 Hon. Paul Martineau, August 9, 1962

Hon. Edmund Davie Fulton, June 21, 1957

Hon. Douglas Scott Harkness, June 21, 1957